skip navigation

Defending Kennedy Cup Champion Benet Looks to Repeat Behind Klos, Casto

By Ross Forman, 01/05/21, 7:45AM CST


By Ross Forman - In the Chicago Catholic Hockey League, the season - every season for every team - is centered on the Kennedy Cup championship. Win the Kennedy Cup, that's all that matters. Period, end of story. Awarded annually to the CCHL playoff champion, the Kennedy Cup dates to 1964 and is the oldest trophy in Illinois High School hockey. Every team wants to win the Kennedy Cup every season, and then CCHL teams turn their attention to other season-long goals.

Benet Academy is the defending Kennedy Cup Champion, hoisting the title this past March days before the pandemic silenced the sport. Benet topped Providence Catholic in the best-of-three series, winning the deciding game 4-3 in overtime. I am proud to spotlight two key returning players for the Redwings who again are focused first off on repeating. Nothing less than a Kennedy Cup championship will do...for Benet or any CCHL team.